

# AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RACING ASSOCIATION

# MEDIA RELEASE 25th February 2013



## Miata wins the AGRA 2012 Australian Greyhound Of The Year Award

At a gala AGRA Awards night held at Rupertswood Mansion in Sunbury Victoria the Australian Greyhound Racing Association last Friday night announced Miata the winner of the 2012 AGRA Australian Greyhound of the Year.

It was a night of nights on the National scene with Delegates and club members coming together from all over Australia to celebrate the AGRA Awards night.

Hosted by the Melbourne Greyhound Racing Association and led by CEO Marg Long and her extremely competent team they staged a glittering affair in the historic mansion on the outskirts of Melbourne. Each state that has staged the event since 2006, have gone to great lengths to put on an outstanding show.

New South Wales & Western Australian owned and trained staying sensation Miata won the Greyhound the Year from Victorian trained and Queensland owned sprinters Don't Knocka Him and Got A Moment.

The winner was selected by panel of judges consisted of administrators and media representatives from each state and a group of national media representatives from Print, Radio and Television. The panel was asked to allocate votes 3, 2 and 1 to the three finalists in order of each judge's preference in a secret vote.

Accepting the award from AGRA President Denise Fysh owners Paul Stuart and Nicole Wheeler - Whye expressed what a fantastic year 2012 had been for their kennel star. Wheeler - Whye singled out particular praise for Miata's trainer and fellow owner Paul Stuart for the outstanding job he had achieved in the training department. Miata had travelled far and wide throughout the year thrilling crowds where ever she racing and had truly become the sports pin up girl with enormous popularity particularly in her home state of Western Australia where at Cannington she had proved unbeatable.

### AUSTRALIAN GREYHDUND BAGING ASSUGIATION

Listed below are Miata achievements during 2012.

#### **MIATA**

(October 2009 Red Fawn Bitch Bombastic Shiraz – Winsome Bluebird)

Race starts 2012: 26 – 22 wins, 1 second, 1 third. Owner: Paul Stuart & Nicole Wheeler-Whye.

Trainer: Paul Stuart (Oakford, Western Australia)

Winner: Group 1 Galxay; Group 1 Association Cup; Group 1 National Distance

**Championship; Group 1 Bold Trease; Group 2 Zoom Top.** 

Finalist: Group 1 Sandown Cup (3rd); Group 1 Albion Park Gold Cup (5th).

Total Career Prizemoney: \$592,008.



The previous winners of the AGRA Australian Greyhound of the Year are 2002 **Boomeroo**, 2003 **Bombastic Shiraz**, 2004 **Whisky Assassin**, 2005 **Pure Octane**, 2006 **Betty's Angel**, 2007 **Flashing Floods**, 2008 **El Galo**, 2009 **Cindeen Shelby**, 2010 **El Grand Senor** and 2011 **Dyna Tron**.

Earlier in the night under the sterling guidance of MC Catching Pen host and Sky's very own Dave Carlson the AGRA announced the other award winners in the following categories.

#### 2012 Brood Bitch of the Year was Winsome Bluebird

Western Australian owner Paul Stuart accepted the award on behalf of his brood bitch Winsome Bluebird who won with 45 points from Amelia Bale 42, Princess Bale 30, Gold Rush Bale 30 and Incoherent 28.

#### 2012 Sire of the Year was Bombastic Shiraz

Darren Cairns on behalf of his family accepted the award.

Bombastic Shiraz won with 1580 points from Collision 1111, Where's Pedro 928, Hallucinate 621 and Bartrim Bale 487.

\*This was Bombastic Shiraz's third title having won the award in 2010 and 2011.

**2012** Run of the Year went to Bizarre Barbie for her outstanding performance coming from last to win running down Irma Bale in a handicap 725 at the Meadows in December.

Bizarre Barbie's Queensland owner Ray Burman accepted the award. She was trained in Victoria by Angela Jackson when she won the Run of the Month for December 2012.

The Run Of the Year was determined from the 12 runs of the month, then by a vast panel of judges from each state. This year some 32 people cast their opinion in the nationwide poll deciding a clear cut victory to the performance of Bizarre Barbie while special mentions were given to the efforts of Miata and Heston Bale.

#### 2012 Trainer of the Year was Jason Thompson

Jason was on hand to accept the award. It was clearly acknowledged what an extraordinary year Jason Thompson had had in 2012. He trained the following Group winners. Group 1 Silverchief (Godsend), Easter Egg (Don't Knocka Him), Sapphire Crown (Peggy May), Melbourne Cup and Brisbane Cup (Got A moment) Vic Peters (Proven Nitro). Group 2 winners Bendigo Cup (Peggy May), Warrnambool Classic (El Brooklyn), Great Chase (Boris Fields) and Group 3 Shootout (Proven Nitro). His total first prizemoney for the winning Group races was \$1,104,000. It was a feat not even Thompson is likely to repeat. The award was Jason's second AGRA Trainer of the Year award he also was successful in 2007.

The trainer of year is determined after nominations are put forward to the AGRA CEO's who cast votes at a meeting held in January.

The panel takes into account a number of different aspects of the training side of things it included. Group wins, and finalists, state city wins, number of runners and dogs in work, percentage per runners ect.

It concluded a fantastic night which is sure to be repeated later this year, again in Melbourne. In a change to recent times the Greyhound of the Year awards night which will still rotate from state to state, will take place now in September of each year coinciding with AGRA's National Championships, Annual meeting and Conference.



For more information please contact:

Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950

nbrown@agra.com.au

Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838

hashton@agra.com.au